Our last day...for a while

Evan has been amazing. Never a word of complaint or jealousy that his sister got a trip to New York and he had to stay home with Baba. Not once has he said it was unfair. No pouting, no whining. He amazes me.

I wouldn't have known he had any feelings about the whole thing, except he wasn't in the mood to make Valentines for his mom and Bella; and he said he "wasn't feeling it" when I asked if he wanted to FaceTime with them. "I don't really want to hear about New York," he told me. Instead he FaceTimed with his dad, who is in rehearsals for the first tour he has worked since last October.

Today Evan asked to go over to my house. He wanted to visit the toy store, have lunch at Escape from New York Pizza, and get a slice of lemon chiffon cake to eat back at home while watching re-runs of the Great British Baking Show. "Mama and Bella are in an airplane leaving New York, and we're eating Escape from New York Pizza. That makes me laugh." (Extra.)

The Lego toy he chose (and assembled in less than an hour) is a "Waterwing" from one of the Avatar movies (main). I haven't seen these movies, so I asked him to explain. "The blue people are trying to save their planet, which is called Pandora, from humans, who have come to take their resources and destroy everything."

I said it sounds a lot like reality. He nodded. I asked if the blue people win. He answered, "The good guys always win, in movies. It's not like real life." 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.