Living my dream

By Mima

Tall

I am a member of a postcard-sending family. Whenever we go anywhere - even for a day out - my brothers and I try to find postcards to send to each other. These days I’m such a home-bird that I send far fewer than I receive, but the boys don’t seem to hold it against me thankfully.

The cards I receive decorate the kitchen cupboard doors, and the side of the cook-bookcase in the Blip. Once every available space is filled, I remove the earliest ones and start again.

There will some familiar sights for some Blippers.

It’s been another day of decent weather and I’ve been busy in the kitchen and garden, whilst keeping half an ear on the news about Cyclone Gabrielle battering the North Island.

It’s bad. A National Emergency was announced this afternoon. Hundreds of thousands of homes have no power, thousands of people have evacuated their homes, roads are flooded, more roads have been swept away by slips, bridges have washed away or are closed. My heart goes out to all those affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.