Valentines

I spent my life on many missions: parenting, education, financial survival, teaching career, activism, art. Finding a partner was not my first consideration. I tried and bailed a few times, and I was more often single than not. I winced at Valentine’s Day, making the best of it, celebrating love. 

After Sue’s long-time partner died in 2002, she was what people are on this day, when they have lost a partner. Wincing. Making the best of it, celebrating love.

Ten years ago, at the ages of 66 and 67, we started celebrating the day together. While we celebrate, we are aware of others who wince or cringe, duck or evade. So on this day we send hearts out to all who wince, to those who are their own best valentines, and to those who celebrate love in its many flavors and combinations. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.