SkiMe

By SkiMe

1000 Miglia

What a great day out! I drove down from Milan with some friends to watch the 1000 Miglia in the mountains of Tuscany. So many nice new cars out for the day to show off... and then so many nice old cars and those actually in the race.

Though not my best photo of the day, I feel obliged to put this one up since I think is the oldest car I saw during the day. Notice the crank on the front! If I am not mistaken it is a race version of the Bugatti Type 16??? In any case nearly or more than a 100 years old!

An interesting experience. We also "participated" in the race by following the mountain road along with the real participants and other enthusiasts down into Bologna. I can honestly claim now that the old cars hold their own and show super showmanship of the drivers... except for the swiss guy who gave us the finger at a stop light in Bologna because he felt we should have given him more leeway. Still laughing at that one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.