Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Abstract birch

An interesting day, mostly spent helping to assess the botanical skills of a job applicant for a local environmental consultancy. On my way to their offices, I dropped into Holme Fen to have a look at recent management of an area of birch, to allow more light into the relict population of Bog Myrtle. The work was a bit more extensive than I'd anticipated, but seemed to have been well executed - it'll be interesting to see how the vegetation responds.

The interview took longer than I'd anticipated, but I was home in good time for our delayed Valentine's Day meal - as I knew we were both busy, I cheated and bought a meal deal from Waitrose, which was very good value and all absolutely delicious! We started with an Espresso Martini, which was followed by smoked salmon mousses with toasted sourdough and a sharp lemon-dressed salad. The main course was rump steak with chimichurri butter, and we had a rhubarb and custard heart for dessert. After that I was ready for an early night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.