Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

Sun and snow

Landed yestereve in Mystras, what's a few miles from Sparta. Sparta is located on the plain and Mystras at the foot of the mountain range of Taiyetos ~ I haven't a clue what summit I pictured here, but I enjoyed the views today lots!

Spent the morning for a walk of 4 hours vitising the Old Mideavel Mystra settlements what's surrounded by walls and located up the hills... walking up the cobble stone stairways to the 4 old churches of Byzantine times; the Mitropolis Church and the Agia Sofia and Agioi Theodoroi and the Evangelistria Church, Above that old city hoovers the castle... that I didn't visit, neither the monastery of Pantanassa, The monastery wasn't open to visitors today. I've seen and photographed the various fresco's from the churches (flashlight of course not allowed).I walked the site up and down, as that's what it takes! for more than 2 hours. It's really worth a visit this old city! 

When I got there at 10.30 hrs I was with just a handful of visitors and I marvelled and praised a small family as daughter and wife guided their blind man/papa up these very tricky stairways and down! They walked with care and me too, I stood quiet many times for a blip; so it was that we ended our visit alike too. And then it was busy... busses with teenagers from a Garibaldi Lyceum in Italy and a bus with tourists from Germany and Greek families that arrived with their cars... all year round this site is open to visitors.

The afternoon I took the car for a ride up the mountain range of Taiyetos, what starts instantly after Mystras and is the mountain road up to Kalamata. I did not decend into Kavlamata as I wanted to get back that road before dusk. No way to drive in the dark on such curvy mountain road with a lots of stones fallen from the rocks. A wonderful day it was out here! 

Oh Weekend! Have a good weekend you Blippers! Can't believe the initial week is done already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.