Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

10 days old

A long, but fortunately uncomplicated day.  W dropped me in Galway City, to catch a bus to Dublin Airport.  I booked it online, and knew that it was one that ran half-hourly, but discovered that another bus (presumably run by a rival company) also runs half-hourly, so early on a Sunday morning there were buses leaving every 15 minutes, less than half full, from Galway to drive the 2 and a half hour trip to Dublin - airport and city.

Arrived at the airport in plenty of time, no hassles through security.

The only way, given the short notice booking, that I could get a flight at a sensible hour that wasn't outrageously expensive was to take a connection via Amsterdam.  Actually this worked very well.  The flights were KLM, so the hand luggage allowance was sensible, and they actually provided a drink and a sandwich on both legs.  My only concern had been the rather short turn around in Amsterdam - ArcLight had been very concerned.

I told the cabin crew on the first leg, and they moved me up to the front of the plane (business class area) so I could disembark quickly.  Nice - whole row to myself, and more leg room!

When I got to passport control, again I explained the short turn around, and they pulled me to the short queue.  Long walk to the gate, but there in plenty of time.  Actually great to have the chance to stretch my legs.

Our take off from Amsterdam was slightly delayed, due to wind in Copenhagen.  

In Copenhagen I just missed a train across the bridge, but they run every 20 minutes, so not really a problem.  Z met me at Hyllie train station.

So lovely to see the family, and of course Casper had to be the main feature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.