Albatext

By Telthecelt

Gurdwara

Glasgow's Sikh community celebrated with many others in opening their new purpose-built temple in Albert Drive. I was really keen to see it close up having spotted its golden dome from the train several times. I wasn't disappointed. The building is sparkling and the people are so welcoming. After removing shoes and donning a head scarves my wife and I were treated to a tour of he building with explanations readily given. Finished with a free snack of samosas, bajis and a a chai sitting on the floor. Wonderful! I recommend a visit if you are at all close. You will be made very welcome. Visited Holmwood house as well to keep out of the rain. Also good. (I sneaked a couple of tearoom photos but keep it under your hat! http://www.flickr.com/photos/albatext/ )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.