If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Robin (Erithacus rubecula)

This morning I decided it was a long time since I had practiced birds in flight shots.  The problem was the feeder really needs to be heaving with birds so that one will fly across expecting to frighten another one off a perch.  Currently, we have very few birds compared to last year.

Luckily we have a Robin which comes up to the feeder, flaps about trying to keep its balance grabs some seed and flies off.  This flying off shot was in my opinion the best.

When I am trying for birds in flight I have the camera on manual with a shutter seed, depending on the birds, of between 1600 and 4,000.   You have to guess what aperture depending on where you expect the bird to be and the size of bird.   Otherwise, a suitable depth of field is tricky.  ISO I find is best on auto, so that the camera can work out the sensitivity to give the speed and aperture you want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.