Just doing some filing

When I was working from home, from 2000 to 2009, I had a proper office at home pretty much exactly like I would have had in the Maidenhead office. Desk, computer, laser printer, router to access the corporate network, IP (internet protocol) phone which was very advanced - way better than SKYPE (see EXTRA, another one with more info for the techy nerds amongst us!).
Also had great storage cabinets which I inherited when the company went into administration (the desk became a workbench in the garage).
We've used the cabinets for our own files, which includes historic files, so they've built up to be a ridiculous amount of paper. We decided it was time to whittle it down to just essential files. 
The amount of paper we finished up was far too much for the paper recycling bag, and most of it had names, addresses, NI number, bank details etc. so we decided to shred it, that was very onerous so we resorted to burning.
So there I was, merrily recalling my Scouting days, singing Ging Gang Gooley to myself. I must say it was very satisfying to be able to utilise the top filing drawer (double width of a normal filing cabinet) for other purposes while the remaining files all fitted in the bottom drawer.
It also made me realise how much paper was used in the past, now we can use on-line banking, billing, etc. so very little paper comes through our door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.