Mari Boine again!

Received an Easter Card from friend Penny this morning!  How early is that?  Otherwise spent a lot of the day with Mari Boine on YT.  I discovered that I got more from her music by seeing her perform rather than shutting my eyes and just hearing the music. That made me think of something Dizzie Gillespie said years ago that music could be experienced through the beat and not only through the sound.  That made me think of something else  -  colour!  I watched several YT of Mari this afternoon and those where she wore a red dress affected me more than when she wore, for example, a black dress. It also took me back to the 1960s when I was a photographer in the Mecca dance hall in Portsmouth and photographed a black girl dancing all alone  -  I can see her now and the green dress she was wearing but not the music that was playing  -  probably some rock and roll:-)  Mari is a member of the Sami Tribe  - this will change your life!  Happy Weekend, Everyone:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.