Self-portrait on my Father's headstone

Beautiful morning for a bike ride today...I guess I'm not as old as I felt yesterday! We have had company and stayed up very late the last two nights, but this morning I woke with the sun and jumped out of bed ready to ride!!

Al was not quite as enthusiastic, but since it was cool and sunny off we went to a nearby park...it was perfect!! Quiet, cool and totally ours for most of the morning! On our way home we passed the little country cemetery where my grandparents, aunts, uncles, brother and my father are all buried.

I have always loved my dad's headstone...polished black granite etched with his life's work of farming and flying...today I put the timer on and stretched out in the grass in front of it....bonus portrait of Al in the white and blue jacket behind me, too!

This is not a sad place for me, but rather a place to marvel at the fact that all four of my grandparents rest with a few yards of each other. I never knew any of them, and they didn't know each other until my parents married....but here they are together forever.

Today's challenge is "self-portrait".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.