Amwell Treecreeper

I've seen a treecreeper once in our garden, many years ago. It was on a weeping willow in the front garden that sadly had to be felled. It was creeping up the trunk in exactly the fashion depicted in my Hamlyn Guide to Birds of Britain and Europe by Bertel Bruun. Once they've spiralled up one trunk they flit to the bottom of the next tree and spiral up that.

I spotted this one at Amwell Nature Reserve and got a few shots. I've chosen the above as it shows the bird's sharp beak, perfect for prising insects from under the bark and sharp claws for clinging on whilst climbing. 

I photographed a little egret catching lots of fish and as I walked back to the car I saw a man on the bridge hoick a big, possibly trout, from the river, I think using just a line and hook. He strode ahead holding the fish out of sight in front of him. I followed and caught up with him. He turned and it shone silver in the evening light still wriggling as he stuffed it in his bag. I commented what a big one it was. I don't think he spoke English. Maybe he didn't know that fishing here is, I believe, the province of the historic Amwell Magna Fishery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.