Seizing the chance to be outdoors

Lots of people were outside today and I cycled past this knitter by the river on my way to an unusual lunch al fresco. I've known the chef, Finn, since he and my son became friends aged 9 and when I bumped into him last week he told me that in two weeks' time he's opening a pop-up restaurant in Soho in London. Aware that few restaurants cater well for vegetarians, he's been developing some dishes without meat or fish and he invited us to try them out today. What a great afternoon! After days and days of cold, wet weather, it was warm enough for us to eat in a borrowed garden and, added bonus, we discovered that two of the nine tasters were friends I've been wanting to catch up with for ages. Our son and two friends of his were also there. As we ate seven really unusual and delicious courses we chatted and filled in our feedback forms. I'm not going to give away his trade secrets, but sea spinach was a great find.

On our way home we went to see another friend who was opening his garden to the public today, coincidentally in the same street, and were introduced to more plants I don't know. He lived in Australia for six years which has influenced his eclectic range including a banana, palms, unusual bamboos and a collection of toxic plants as well as some benign British bluebells under the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.