The Repair Shop

Our three year old granddaughter was quite tearful when her little elasticated necklace broke while she was with us over the weekend. Granny was asked if she could repair it, and she confidently replied, "Yes, of course I can!", while secretly wondering if she’d be able to manage it.

So today, apart from all the usual household tasks, the cleaning and the ironing, I set about repairing this precious item of jewellery. I removed the elastic from the back of the daisy, which was fastened through a plastic hoop by a tiny bead, and laid it all out in a long line. I cut off a very long piece of elastic thread and then pulled one bead at a time off the broken thread and re-threaded it on the new elastic. It was very fiddly, and I was worried I would scatter the lot all over the floor, but eventually it was finished. I threaded the two ends of the necklace back through the plastic loop behind the daisy, with the bead to stop them coming back through, then used my glue gun to anchor it all as securely as possible. 

I suspect that just one vigorous tug by an enthusiastic three-year old will break it again, but at least I’ve done my best!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.