Tiny Tuesday

Well, I've been down the "buttonhole" again, looking for sewing notions for a necklace and pins I was making and I found a really interesting object that probably belonged to my great grandfather.  The odd metal object in the center is a collar buttoner, patented in 1898.  It was to assisted men with buttoning their stiff collars I believe.  I have two button hooks for women's shoes but this thing is new to me.  The black hair pin most likely belonged to my grandmother, or maybe her mother.  She was the only one I knew who used them.  I always find something interesting when I explore my large collection of antique buttons in tins and jars.  I've added a photo of a bracelet and two sweater pins (I put the collar buttoner and hair pin on one) that I made yesterday.


Gift #66: to discover a lost bit of history.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.