An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Baby you can drive my car...

Great excitement this morning as Alan's new car was being delivered.

After almost a year of considering replacements for the Seat Alhambra that he's had for the last five years and test drives in a fair few, D finally settled on a Ford Tourney Custom, which now it's been converted for wheelchair use by Allied Mobility in Glasgow, is known as an Independence.  I am particularly happy with it as Alan travels in the middle of the car, rather than in the boot space as he did in the Seat.  Always worried me that there was nothing to protect him if a car ran into the back of it.

It looks enormous (mainly because it is! lol) but it's not any bigger (by that I mean not any longer, it's clearly taller) than our car (a VW Touareg)  Alan and the team have been looking forward to this day as the Seat really was getting past it, although with over 100,000 miles on the clock, no shame to it.  Alan certainly gets around.

David took it out for a spin (I will need a stepladder to get in the passenger seat!) and just as in the test drive, was very impressed at how comfortable it is.  By the time he returned Alan was up and raring to go so he and Vickie headed off out on their first adventure in it.  

D's heart was in his mouth as they drove out of the driveway as Vickie took the turn rather tight and it looked as though the passenger side of the car was going to scrape right along the wall for its full length (see extra)  Thankfully it didn't but there must only have been millimetres in it!  A definite squeaky bum moment!

D headed off out with Lola and my friends Fiona and Janice arrived and we headed to the golf club for lunch.  We last managed lunch together in August (it's supposed to be a monthly event) so we had lots of catch up on.  
We were still chatting when we realised it was 5.20pm! 

When I got back D was getting organised to head out to his singing rehearsal so we had a quick dinner and he was off.  All my plans to catch up on blip went out the window as D was hardly out the door five minutes when I dozed off!  When I woke up much later (and not long before D returned) I was dismayed to find I have a watering left eye, a runny left nostril and a tickle on the left side of my throat.  That is exactly how David's cold started last week.  

Oh joy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.