Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

The greatest of them all

It's been a taking-it-easy day today. I'm dreadfully behind since getting back from Gran Canaria, and really should have done some much-needed housework instead of just sitting around watching TV and listening to music. Ah well …

I've also been spending some time on the computer, including picking up some tips on TouTube about hidden features of the camera in my iPhone. While experimenting with that I pointed the phone at my much-loved bust of Beethoven (who is without doubt my favourite composer) and a couple of glasses which (Shock. Horror) have been hanging around on the table  since after Sunday's house-warming lunch.

The foreground glass in the extra has a bit of a story connected with it. Way back in the '70s and '80s I was deeply involved with tenpin bowling. It was a huge part of my life then, and I was lucky to travel with the Irish teams (senior and junior) to international competitions in Finland, Denmark, France, Belgium, England and the Netherlands. We had an exchange arrangement going with the Dutch association, with us going to them one year and they coming to us the next. On one of these trips we stayed in Veghel. I came home with a set of six glasses from the bar in the hotel we stayed in. This glass is one of the three which have survived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.