Bernat Klein Exhibition

At last we managed to see the Bernat Klein exhibition in the museum but no, I didn't wear the scarf/stole knitted from the yarn I bought in the late '60's, mainly because I have only knitted a few rows... .

The exhibition gives some of the personal history and inspiration behind the distinctive colour combinations with which I am familiar and has a few garments made from the fabrics, mainly the tweeds but included two of his famous screen-printed polyester fabric.

This kaftan stopped me dead in my tracks, it is gorgeous and something I would wear (in fact I once had a self-coloured dress in similar style, though not by BK). It is displayed next to a box of yarn and a coat, all in coordinated colour. 

After coffee I returned to re-take some photos and had a lovely conversation with two ladies of similar vintage to myself, comparing our own purchases back in the '60's - but all agreed that the exhibition was disappointingly small considering the amount of material that the museum holds - I could have offered to loan a couple of pieces myself. I also found the acoustics rather noisy - why do people talk so loudly at exhibitions?

I did enjoy most of the displays and made one or two discoveries - or reminders: the red and pink yarn that I am knitting into a scarf is called Lady Macbeth and the brownish moth-eaten mohair shawl yarn is called Goldfinch.

The clear cold day resolved to give a few flakes of snow in the early evening but now the temperature has dropped again so, if I'm quick, I might wear a new red scarf before the weather warms up... .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.