The one that got away ...

See this one LARGE HERE it may be better ...

Today I was hoping to blip a golden oriole - there are lots here, but they are little varmints, they get at the tops of the trees, in amongst the foliage, and, even though they are a bright golden yellow, they are impossible to see.

I do have a plan for this though ...

It was actually quite a day for birds - a nightingale and a wren were having a singing contest, the orioles flitted from branch to branch and in between times, there were the ospreys.

Oh, yes, before I forget...
I thought there were maybe two ospreys, although I wasn't that sure - Chamaeleo noticed, with eyes sharper than an osprey, that one of the birds, in my photos, had a bit missing out of the wing, whereas the others didn't.

So, I put the alarm on for 05:30 this morning, got up, looked out the window and went back to sleep until 08:30 - the sun was bright and warm.
I took breakfast and a flask of coffee to the lake, whereupon my arrival I noticed 4 ospreys wheeling about over the water - I guess this was some form of mating ritual - akin to the human's dancing around their handbags ... powerful stuff!

This picture shows the osprey just after having dropped a huge fish, which has probably got a sore back, but it can count its blessings though.

More photos of todays Ospreys

I hope your monday was good!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.