A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

The Ouseburn Viaduct, Byker, Newcastle Upon Tyne!

This deeply impressive structure carries the East Coast Mainline across the Ouseburn Valley in Byker Newcastle Upon Tyne. It lies just north of the two neighbouring Metro viaduct and Byker Bridge that I blipped yesterday.

One of several beautifully engineered structures that carry the railway through Newcastle, this viaduct dates from 1837 spanning 918feet with nine heroic arches stampeding across this steep urban valley 108feet above the river below!

It has been amazing to be back in Newcastle. The city has a lovely creative atmosphere, beautiful streets, bridges and architecture! Touring the city today I'm still trying to figure out how I could have left and I guess, more presciently, why I have not returned... A truly beautiful city that very much feels like home to me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.