This and That and T’other

It seemed to me to be a very chilly walk into town this morning not that the assistant I spoke to in M&S thought so even though my phone told me it was -1°. 
However the sky was blue again and the sun shone so that the world sparkled for the benefit of all the tourists, many of whom were Irish, in town for the rugby match tomorrow.
I sauntered along Princes street avoiding the crowds and the uneven paving slabs and then made the mistake of wandering into Waterstones book shop. I should be forbidden to enter book shops especially now I have a handle on borrowing from the library because I find it almost impossible to exit with buying something. Today it was The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters which appears to be the Sunday Times Fiction Book of the Year although I’m not sure which year! 

Then it was a tidy step to Castle Terrace and through the Farmers’ Market where this blip was taken, to Johnstone Terrace and the High Street which was as busy as I have ever seen it, mostly people I suspect in Edinburgh for the rugby. From there it was home dodging walking tours in every language. I even detected Arabic.

Since then, the sun has disappeared and suddenly the day looks very different, cold and grey. I delayed a walk in order to dismantle my printer’s tray housing all my small treasures collected over the years. I was hoping to relocate it but there is not a square inch of wall left that is suitable and so it sits empty and unwanted while the treasures have been emptied into a big pot and are in need of a loving home. I haven’t even started on my cycling peloton far less my fishing fleet  and then of course there are the books………..
It seems I am a collector of pretty but useless artefacts which collect dust and need to be disposed of before I get any longer in the tooth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.