Avoiding Meltdown

Tiny little snowman,
you mustn't be downhearted.
Never were you very big,
not even when you started.
Your stiff brown arms,
as long as you were high,
now look like broken sticks
on the ground where they lie.
Your cold, blank stare
doesn't seem out of place;
features cannot melt where
you never had a face.
Tiny little snowman,
when all around you's green,
enjoy the sun's warmth
and be glad to have been.

© Celia Warren 2023

This is the tiny snowman that little Miss B and I made in our garden yesterday. It's now even smaller. 

Today Mr PP and I went grocery shopping. I did the ironing, and finished a jigsaw begun yesterday: anything to take my mind off still being totally deaf in my left ear (my formerly better-hearing ear), and still being full of cold. And still feeling sorry for myself! My eyes are watering all the time, which is beginning to make them feel sore. Catarrh on my throat is making me cough and stops me sleeping. Oh, and did I mention still feeling sorry for myself?! 

OK. I'll stop whingeing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.