Morning trip the butcher

Realized, with horror, that the freezer was bare and the roast lamb I had promised our guests for Saturday was not where it should be. This can only mean one thing" a trip to the Butcher of Navan is called for.

Whereas most people I term butchers are of the medical or dental variety, this one is, well, a real butcher. In the semi-rural idyll of Navan, which is being turned into a semi-urban hellhole by the City council's planning department, resides Lavergne's... provider of perhaps the best meay I have had here in Canada (Alberta included). So off I went. I spent several hundred dollars stocking up - all placed on the trusty Visa card - and got back to find out that the previous day someone had been trying to put, unsuccessfully, thankfully, several thousand dollars on the self-same card. 

After a long conversation (preceded by the usual long Visa phone call wait), they stopped the card and promised to ship another one out to me ASAP. Life without a Visa card. Ask me in three days if it is still possible or not. (Personally, I suspect not.)

The restrt of the say was spent in silent rage at the types of bastard who try to hack credit cards. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.