Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Passing time

Up bright and early to bring the car over to the garage to have the work done which didn't happen a couple of weeks ago. Traffic was crazy busy as usual, and I was half an hour late despite leaving home earlier than the last time.

I'd provided a taxi service to Carl yesterday, heading over to England (Eastbourne) for his uncle's 80th birthday celebration. I had a brainwave last night and got Carl's all-clear to wait in his place work was being done on the car. Unfortunately, I got word later on that one of the parts the garage had got in proved to be wrong and a replacement wouldn't be available until tomorrow, so rather than just wait a few hours in Carl's I ended up staying the night.

I whiled away the time watching the Disney channel on his TV, which I don't have at home. The highlight was Nomadland, the film that won three Oscars in 2021. The Academy Awards were fresh in my mind, of course, after the disappointment on Sunday night when The Banshees of Inisherin came away empty despite all its nominations. To be honest, I thought it was quite an ask even for it be nominated for best picture, but Colin Farrell and Barry Keoghan were definitely worthy. Anyway, Nomadland was well worth watching, if only for Frances McDormand's outstanding performance.

Well done meanwhile to An Irish Goodbye, which got the nod for best live action short film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.