Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Royal Yacht

Having seen dear daughter safely to the bus to head for camp, and a 4-1/2 hour journey north, I foolishly asked our son what he'd like to do. "Go to the cinema", came the reply. A quick consultation of my smart phone established that the options of Iron Man 3 and Star Trek were both available at Ocean Terminal.

I honestly couldn't think of anything I'd like to do less than go to the cinema in the middle of the day, and the choice of film left me completely unenthused, but I wanted to do something that our son had opted to do rather than dragging him off on an errand of mine. And actually, spending a while watching Robert Downie Jnr's antics turned out to be a distraction from the cares and worries which are plaguing me at the moment. If only I hadn't kept falling asleep...

Book Group this evening at croftgirl10 house, where we were discussing 'The Life Examined' by Stephen Grosz, which I'd read in a bit of a rush as soon as it was set, and seemed to be able to recall very little. On checking my Kindle copy via my phone in an attempt to quickly mug up enough to participate in the conversation, I discovered I'd only highlighted one piece of text - the story of a woman who had walked to safety from one of the Twin Towers on 9/11. We had a democratic vote on what to read next, and chose Kate Atkinson's 'Life After Life', although I fear that it's not a book which is going to divide opinion, which is what we really need for a good discussion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.