LTLT

By LaurieT

Appalachian Zen

The review noted that this book dealt with Buddhism and class – two subjects of interest to me, and to Kendall who I planned to pass the book on to after I finished it. The cover didn’t draw me in so it sat in the pile for over a month until I picked it up one weekend. Once I started my plans for the next day were upended.  When I read about the High School Humanities teacher (Bruce Bechdel, later immortalized in his daughter Alison’s book and musical Fun Home) who showed Ruhl the possibilities of a larger life I was hooked. A quick search found this lovely remembrance of his teacher: https://medium.com/conversations-at-rowe/he-not-only-changed-my-life-he-saved-it-36694934d7e - 
 
Ruhl devoted thirty years, beginning in 1992, to writing his memoir. I appreciated how his reflections and understanding of situations developed and changed over time. I wanted to highlight and annotate parts of it, so I bought a copy on Kindle, and passed the physical book onto Kendall before I finished it. Happily she was as moved by it as I was.

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/3082554480508537820

“All is lost. Be of good cheer.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.