Henello

By Henello

13 June 1959 - 16 March 2023

R's dad passed away last night. He suffered a massive stroke January 2020 which he was unable to recover from.

We didn't know our recent visit was also us saying goodbye. R feels lucky to have been able to visit him so close to his death.

R says it doesn't feel real. She met up with her mother today but kept using present tense when talking about her dad. I can't imagine how this all must feel.

Her paternal grandmother is still alive. She's a feisty woman, and R's dad probably managed to last this long through inheriting her strength.

R's mother was diagnosed with cancer last month yet she was his primary caretaker. At least now she can focus on her own well-being.

Today was an oddly warm day. After constant bitterly cold days, spring has suddenly leapt upon us. The world feels completely different now.

There were daffodils at my grandfather's funeral since he came from Wales. When I saw them on my walk, I reminisced about when the news came through that he had passed on.

I'm hoping I can give R sufficient support in the coming weeks. 2023 has been a bad year for her.

Maybe R and her family's luck will begin to turn soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.