Seeds

These are empty seed packets and the kitchen windowsill is now full of seed trays. It took a while to assemble all the bits and pieces and even longer to clear a space in the garage to do the sowing. There are more to do but I need to get more clear plastic bags. I've realised I have a fine stock of blue bags but I'm not convinced those are the right thing.
I've also managed to plant all the bare root plants which arrived this week ; three apples, two blackcurrants and four climbing roses. Some of my planned planting holes had to be abandoned on the grounds that  they were full of water. The problem is that cutting down the 18 giant conifers has left an impressive underground root network.. Four clematis plants arrived in pots from Somerset, clearly poised to burst into bloom. As mine are still at the baby bud stage I've popped them into the new potting shed for a week or two until our weather warms up. I've spent half my day in the garden and the other half on the RHS website checking out how to do things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.