pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Meeting old friends

This evening Jon and I met up with our friends Steve and Tracey from Linton for a meal in Cromer. We met at Lily Maes for a meal. Mostly good, although Jon's fish meal was very small - and was the most expensive. But the company was lovely, and a very long time since we had been out properly with friends.

The day in general had mostly been spent indoors. Although we began the day with a very nice breakfast at the Whelk Coppers in Sheringham. One our favourites, right by the sea, but quite popular. Mollie joined us. We waited a while for Henry who was having his hair cut, but in the end the tummy rumbling got the better of us and we ordered. I had French toast with creme fraiche and fruit compote. (Not at all like eggy bread i used to have when we were camping) It was tasty, but probably not that healthy. Jon had the same but pancakes instead of French toast. Mollie had avocado on sourdough. Gone are the days when breakfast was cornflakes or egg and bacon!! When Henry arrived, he had a sausage sandwich. It gave Jon an excuse for another coffee!

In Sheringham I bought a lovely set of coasters for the lounge. I had been waiting for pay day to treat us to something nice and these are just what we wanted. We also thought we had found lampshades for the kitchen, but they didn't fit, so back to the drawing board with those.

After lunch I cycled up to the allotment to feed Bessie. I met the newest allotment owner who is battling to dig out a bed from the solid grass/clay on her plot that hasn't been worked for about 7 years. Her name is also Bev...and she volunteered the info that her husband is Kev - then laughed!

I then spent the rest of the afternoon starting work on my 5 meter long paper family tree. I managed to add Jon's family. Tomorrow I will do my family. I am using small post it notes to rough out where everyone goes. Once I am happy with it, I will write them onto the sheet, and link up the boxes to the relevant family. It will take a while to get it right, but I think it will be good when it is done. But it is very long and so far I've only used half of it! See my extra photo.

Now heading to bed before it is tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.