Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

St Patrick

Not.

Some progress in the UCU dispute. The Universities and the pension scheme seem to have come round to our view that their pension valuations were unduly pessimistic. And we have a pay offer that is at least better than the starting offer. On the other issues, which are all more or less “be nicer to your staff” we have some promises to do better.

On this basis, we have had an informal vote on whether to consider these offers formally.
I voted Yes. And, having indicated that I was prepared to accept these offers, it seemed a bit odd to be on strike. So I worked yesterday and today.
But, by Friday evening, the official union position was announced and we are pushing for more. So back on strike next week!
Not sure that the union are handling this well!

Took luna to doggy daycare and met work people to celebrate two 50th birthdays at a pub. After we had nearly all left, one of the birthday people bumped into M (pictured) who, I guess, had my job before me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.