The Knife Angel

Mr C had invited all the children over for dinner but I suggested an alternative.  Knowing that Sim and Nat would be driving up north tomorrow and would need to sort themselves out (although I found out today they are going on Tuesday) and I really wanted to see the knife angel that is on display at Guildford cathedral until the end of the month.  So it was agreed that we would meet for coffee and cake somewhere in Guildford before going to the cathedral.  I found a nice coffee shop online that is housed inside a rather upmarket furniture store.  We all had delicious rolls or flatbreads before scoffing equally lovely cakes.  We then headed to the cathedral except Sim who had to head off to work.

The knives used were either seized by the police or handed in through an amnesty a few years ago.  Families who had lost loved ones to knife crime were invited to engrave a message and there are around 80 messages on the statue.  A few extras are included.

I drive past the cathedral all the time when going back and forth to Sims or Rebecca’s but it was the first time we had visited.  Not the most attractive building I have to say.

I had some lovely pressies and cards from the children too.  Very spoilt. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.