Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Wigeon #33

It's been a grey day but we've seen a nice selection of birds and added 4 new birds to this years list with our visit to WWT Martin Mere and a quick visit to RSPB Marshside on the way home. 
Whenever I hear my first chiffchaff of the year, I take this as my cue that Spring has sprung.  That day was today, and we also saw our first wheatear of the year(extra), so the migrants are starting to arrive. Over the weekend I've seen reports of swallows, sand martins, ospreys and wheatears all being added to year lists in our area, so it was great to be able to add some of these ourselves today. 
My favourite shot of the day is of this male Wigeon that looks like it is conducting the cacophony of noise that was being made by the huge amount of Black Headed Gulls. If only they had paid attention, it might not have been such a dreadful din ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.