Grey Heron

I left the house just after 7am and was at the loch about 7:15. There was no sign of the heron and I could hear the woman screaming at "peppa". Having wandered right the way around the loch and still no sign of any Heron. I arrived back at the viewing platform area and spotted 2 heron on the trees in the middle of the loch, they staring over at me so I hung around until a dog walker had gone. They were still looking over but not flying over. I walked round the path and stood at a favourite spot of theirs and waited for about 20 minutes. Eventually they flew over but were further back than normal. I could see it was the young female and an older male I have seen before. I was just about to feed them when a woman stood right up next too me (she was actually leaning against me). She got out her phone to photograph them and that was them off not quite to the centre but a good way back. The woman went away and after about 15 minutes the two heron came back. The young female was close enough to feed so I gave her some fish then she  suddenly took off. I looked down behind me and there was a dog standing at my side. The owner just said "oops he has spoiled your observation again" and walked on taking his dog with him. The male eventually jumped down and I fed him the rest of the fish. 
I will try going up even earlier tomorrow but feel that the end is in sight for my Heron adventure / blip journal.  
Not as many crows around either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.