ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

From the Sea.

Pentax K1000, Ilford XP2 Super, ISO 400

A bit of a funny day today. I hadn't anything to do in the morning; not even my usual catch-up-call with Mum (her and Dad are in Norway for a week, enjoying the company of Mum's college friend and his partner). At the last minute, I asked M if he would mind if I came out on the lifeboat with him for their Saturday-morning training. It's been about 3 years since the last time, and I know the dolphins are really active at the harbour just now. It was a lovely sunny day, but the southerly swell was strong. I did OK until the boys anchored the boat, and it developed a weird 'tethered' movement. I felt a bit queasy, but M felt horrific and spent most of the time hanging over the side. I'd love to say I lovingly stood by him and stroked his back - but I didn't. I stood well away on the other side of the boat and concentrated on the horizon. He's not usually the seasick one, but certain motions affect folk differently.

On our way back in, we did see dolphins, but the boat was going quite fast and I wasn't quite quick enough with my focussing. I settled with a view of Aberdeen from the bay... One that I don't get to see very often. I did manage to change a film on-deck and NOT be ill, too - which I thought was quite the achievement.

I was quite happy to get back onto terra firma, but M was even more so. We drove home past the shop and I got some (mild-flavoured) soup for our lunch - he looked much brighter after that! We decided to take a trip to Stonehaven so we packed a flask of coffee and swung past Food Story for two of their to-die-for brownies. By the time we got to Stonehaven, massive ice balls were firing from the sky, and 90% of the folk walking through the town centre looked like unwilling participants in a wet t-shirt competition. We decided to park up in the car park overlooking the beach and eat our brownies inside. Harakiri is lovely and comfy, and we sat on the back seats and stretched out; I even fell asleep for a wee bit!

We took a quick walk around the harbour in a brief patch of sun, then continued on home. M laid the fire and cooked us both a lovely dinner of salmon and white-wine sauce tagliatelle. We watched Masterchef Australia (down to the last two! Excited!) and just chilled out. The seasickness still hadn't quite left us, so we headed to bed for an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.