Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Bit Different

One or two of you may have been wondering about my conversion of the other Nikon v1 last week. Well, I've got to admit I failed miserably. I dismantled and re-assembled twice but the lens error kept coming up.

Perhaps I'm stubborn, but I wasn't going to be beaten. I saw a Nikon J1 body on eBay at a low price, it arrived today and I again started to unscrew and dismantle. I could have been throwing another amount of money down the drain, but the experience of working on the v1 had given me some good practice and I was used to all of the different ways they connected things together inside the camera.

There were still some hairy moments. When I took the back off it was a completely different configuration. indeed the rear view screen was completely separate from the outer casing and required to be folded over to access the 'innards'. I am sure you can imagine my joy when the camera switched on and lens was detected. Even then I still had an issue as the menu button didn't work. Back inside I realised that one of the ribbon connectors wasn't quite seated properly. All back together and.........BINGO!

So straight up the 'cut' to take photos. Thankfully the sun had made an appearance after a thoroughly cloudy day. And to top it all there is a young family of little grebes nesting near this shot. Must get back there with a longer lens.

p.s Sorry should have said, while many Infrared images are presented as black and white it is possible to produce a colour image. TO do this I took a custom white balance off a patch of grass. On importing I took it into Photoshop and swapped the red and blue channels in channel mixer to produce this effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.