Living my dream

By Mima

Bottled

I’ve worked through my list and achieved all except one of my tasks today. It’s pleasing.

Bottling a bucket of plums was important. I have plenty in the freezer, enough jam, but none of the 2023 crop had been bottled. 

I listened to Nate Hagens’ latest podcast about the realities of using hydrogen as fuel as I stoned the plums. It wasn’t an easy listen - neither intellectually (my brain stretched to breaking point a couple of times), nor emotionally (hydrogen-use leads to more greenhouse gases and greater demands for power than current technologies). 

The plums got stoned and sliced, put in the bottles, covered with syrup and then put into their water bath for 20 minutes. 

The result was four bottles of almost luminous red deliciousness to warm me up in the depths of winter.

Bean supervised. Or at least I think the pile of blankets on the seat is Bean. I’d better check…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.