FLOWER FRIDAY HAS COME EARLY!

I have had a very leisurely day today - I was coughing a lot, and didn’t sleep that well so I didn’t get up until almost 10 o’clock.  Although I am still coughing, I am feeling a lot better, so I hope that this horrible virus is eventually leaving - and for good!

I am trying to drink more than usual, so was in the kitchen about to make another cup of coffee when our doorbell rang - I was very surprised to see a young lady holding this beautiful bouquet of flowers and saying “Maureen Iles?”  but because I was so surprised, I almost forgot my own name!  She handed the flowers to me and I almost cried because they are all “my colours”  -  the tissue paper surrounding the flowers is the right colour - there was even a mauve ribbon around the bouquet and I just felt so overwhelmed.  

I quickly opened the little envelope and saw they were from a special friend and I am so grateful to her.  I have rung but couldn’t get hold of her, so will try again later.  Everyone has been so kind since I have been feeling poorly and I really am so grateful to all those who have left messages, rung and now sent a most beautiful bouquet of flowers, which I shall enjoy.  

And this, dear friends, is why Flower Friday has come early and why I am dabbing away the occasional tear!

Here is the Old English word for the day - and I’m so pleased I don’t need to do this - because I hope when my neighbour comes to my door, she comes to see me, not the house!

SCURRYFUNGE

A hasty tidying of the house between the time you see a neighbour and the time she knocks on the door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.