Vision

First day in the new place today which was fine and my first job of the afternoon involved actually going back to my old team to work. That's the beauty of " lrestructuring" for you.....

I feel very lucky to have the job I do , I am learning all the time and am supported in my progress and hope I can be exactly where I want to be in my career in two years and have shared my vision with management.

I feel fortunate but I also feel like I am clinging on to the edge of a cliff to survive. Out of a team of nine of us 18 months ago, there are only two of us that will still be around at the end of restructuring . We will not be working together. Most people have wanted to leave and have taken charge of this themselves , there have been no sackings ( contrary to left wing rhetoric . I say this even as a left wing person but come on extreme lefties stop with the rhetoric and argue sensibly) and it's all been done fairly .

No one in the higher eschelons has done anything indiscriminately or unethically and I do feel most of the changes will be for the best. Sometimes things have to evolve to improve and I can see and appreciate what is going on .

However.... It didn't stop me crying like a baby in the car in between offices today. I guess change, however good and however much you look forward to it, can be a stress. Driving across town to the new office, having left the old office very quietly ,( yes , me quietly !) with no one to see me go from the original team , I felt lost.

It feels like moving house . You want to go and pack up your things and smile when you wade through the crap go through your stuff and remember the past . But emotionally it all takes it's toll.

I do feel on the cusp of really good career things but there has been an awareness hanging over me all day of the human cost of "restructuring ". Many have left because they didn't want to cling on to the rock and today I thought of them all

Long term, we will all settle, my ex colleagues will find new jobs, the new team I am in now will merge and grow and things will move on.

I keep the vision in my head that it will all settle and soon it will all be the calm after the storm for all of us

Goodbye old job , hello new one .
X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.