An Adventure!

Friday 24th March 2023

I was quite awake when I went to bed last night so I was reading when my phone pinged with the red alert of the aurora. I regretted not going out the other week when people got wonderful pictures near by but I really wasn't sure about where to go and how to see it. After I looked at the phone last night and linked to another app I discovered the whole country was covered with sightings and also spotted one taken from the local town. That was it, I had to try! 

At first I tried the simple approach of from my drive but the camera didn't show anything. I decided to go in the car to ... I didn't know where. To cut a long story short, after two trips and an odd route, I ended up at the coast. I couldn't see anything but pointed the camera roughly North and got a possible green tinge. I adjusted settings and tried again. Definitely a tinge. I changed location to get a better view and tried again, then I did get excited. I took quite a few but it was very cold, very windy and very late! As I couldn't really see much by eye I eventually decided to return home. I had to process the picture though! Very pleased with this. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep! 

I played golf this morning and had done a few other things this afternoon. 

I've finished processing yesterday's photo so I've just posted that as well.  

p.s Just discovered that my photo made it on to BBC NWTonight News! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.