The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

No Loose Lips

This is how you do it. This is how you question an umpire's bad call. Bite your lips. Words get you tossed from the game. The look says it all.

Shortly after this expressive moment, Isabella smacked a triple.

At the end of the game, she was 2 for 3 at the plate, reached the bases 75% of the time she was at bat, batted in 3 RBIs and scored three runs. For those that do not know baseball, she had the game of her life. Her team crushed their opponents and she was the most productive player in the game.

This child has heard me lecture about baseball since the day she was born. Since her birth and for fourteen years, she has watched with her parents, in person or on the television, no fewer than 70 games per year. But apparently she soaked it all in and in her final game of this season her baseball soul came to life.

Isabella, I was so worried that work would keep from your last game of the year but it was my paradise to be there. The only thing that pounded harder than your bat against the ball tonight was my heart beating within my body. I wish Nonno, the ultimate baseball fan, could have been by my side to see it all. I love you and am so very proud of your sportsmanship and your leadership of this team.

Yahoo, a few more days of an oppressive work and travel schedule and then a very long weekend and a much lighter forward schedule are on the horizon. Have a great over-the-hump day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.