Allgäuer Hof

A couple of days later than planned but I’m back in the flat in Weilheim for a little while. Bea and VeroS very kindly picked me up from the airport, a decision possibly regretted while we sat in rush hour traffic but that gave me a wee chance to coax some German from the recesses of my brain.
A couple of surprises in store when I arrived ‘home’ in V’s borrowed car: major roadworks outside the flat & a tractor parked in the underground garage space next to mine. Hey, we’re surrounded by farmland so why not?
After turning the heating up, I strolled into town looking for some scran and was delighted to find a re-opened Allgäuer Hof, a previous favourite dinner haunt and sporting pretty much the same menu as before. Weissbier and roast pork it was then, can’t beat it! Got chatting to a few guys at the next table, one of whom was an old tennis playing mate of S’s brother and had fond memories of visiting her dad in Piran and another who had equally good memories of sailing to Port Edgar many moons ago. ‘There’s a new bridge’ I said; he seemed unimpressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.