Another change

Amidst all the events and excitements of the last few weeks, I have been preparing myself for another change which takes place in two days time but which  effectively happened today  which saw my  last scheduled event in my role as Professor in Scottish Culture & Governance in the University of Glasgow.  

I am not giving up my involvement with the University , though, but scaling it back a bit to take up an Honorary Professorship in the College of Arts for the next three years which will allow me to continue to undertake some work with colleagues in areas of mutual interest but which will not obligate me to more regular activities. 

When I stepped down from being Education Secretary  in November 2014 I had discussions with a number of educational institutions about continuing my interest in HE.   In May 2015 I started on a three year contract with Glasgow University but when I unexpectedly returned to Government in August 2016 , after Brexit, it was put on hold pending a decision after the next election which was in May 2021. 

In August 2021 I took up  the unexpired portion of that contract and decided at the end of last year that whilst I wanted to go on doing some academic work when it finished  , I didn't want to commit myself to a formal job again.   The University was, as ever, very supportive and the change from the 1st of April this year will suit both sides well I hope !

I have still some unfinished business ( including delivering the postponed Thomas Muir Lecture later this year and a seminar  on the Scottish author Robin Jenkins ) but today's event - being one of the respondents to an excellent opening address at a Cultural Policy event ,delivered by Professor Terry Flew of the University of Sydney - was my last formal engagement.  My first extra photo gives the details. 

The University is a dynamic and ever changing place as my second extra photo shows - something always being built as I have also illustrated in previous blips - but it is also a steady and constant presence in the city and the country which is exemplified by the fact that 50% of the new Scottish Cabinet named today are Glasgow University graduates , and by the view in my main picture. 

I am delighted to be associated with the place, although I also  proudly admit to being an Edinburgh University graduate !  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.