Final Day

No specific activities were organised today so we each did our own thing.
Mr isbi and I explored further down the Mornington Peninsular including visiting Cheviot Beach where our PM, Harold Holt, disappeared while swimming in 1967. Maybe he was abducted, murdered, defected to China by submarine, suicided or merely drowned. The mystery endures.

Further on at Fort Nepean we explored the old military tunnels and gun emplacements.
Here Mr isbi became one of the walking wounded. We were hurrying through a tunnel to catch the bus when he suddenly fell to the ground in front of me. As I bent to see if he was still alive he said “what did I hit?” I looked up and had to report it was the “Mind Your Head” sign :-)
He was covered in blood so I managed to take a photo and render first aid before I allowed myself to laugh. Fortunately he could also see the funny side and is quite OK.
TRIGGER WARNING: Do not view the extra if you are sensitive.

After I patched him up we went for a walk along “Millionaires Row”. It was a fascinating cliff walk which actually passed through peoples (very rich ones) backyards, with gates along the way. The houses would be worth tens of millions but we decided it’s not for us. I prefer more privacy ;-)

Tonight we had our farewell dinner in the very plush Intercontinental Hotel. A far cry from our Contiki days.
It was a great surprise when Treds, who was the courier on our trip, turned up. He has been to Antarctica and thought he wouldn’t be able to come but had stuffed up the dates so made a surprise last minute appearance much to everyone’s delight.
It was a great end to a terrific reunion and the next will be the 50th in three years. Where to hold it is still under discussion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.