FLOWER FRIDAY - PEONY

Earlier in the week, the petals of this peony, in the beautiful bouquet sent by a dear friend, were protecting the middle of the flower, but today the petals have opened up and to me, they look even more beautiful.

I put the vase containing just this flower on the windowsill and was pleased with the way the light was shining through making it look  diaphanous - what a lovely word!

I slept all night long and have slept quite a lot during the day today, which at least means I don’t have to cope with the nausea!  Thankfully, only one more day of antibiotics.  

If any of my followers are “follicly challenged”, please don’t be offended by this Old English word today:

PILGARLIK

Someone who is bald. Apparently, in the 16th century, it was thought that bald men’s heads looked like peeled garlic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.