Oh my galosh, it's a wellie!

Small ceramic wellies have many uses such as a vase, pen holder or in this case a small plant pot. My granddaughter gave this to me as a Mother's Day gift and I thought some African Violets would make the perfect house plant to add to it. It sits on my kitchen counter not far from my window so it gets perfect indirect sunlight. It adds such a nice touch to my kitchen and makes me smile whenever I look at it.
I had a curiosity about these boots and did a little digging. Did you know that in 2003, the largest wellington race took place in New Zealand, with 981 people running in their wellies?? I can't imagine that was an easy task! In 2006, Aberystwyth University experts created a machine that can hurl six wellies at a time up to 80 metres. No, I have no idea why! Also in 2007, the biggest welly was built, eight metres high in North Queensland, Australia. That's dedication!

My little planter is not going to make any news reports but I think it's adorable and my granddaughter is very excited to see the flowers grow in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.