In-between the seconds

By Lisalou

Running on empty

I have always been a glass half full girl.

Regular readers of this journal may remember that grew up with a variety of handicaps around me, my grandparents who didn't have a great understanding of the English language, my Uncle who is autistic, I am dyslexic and my cousin has learning difficulties. All this no doubt pushed me in the direction of becoming an art therapist.

It is a job that is getting harder and harder as there are budget changes and fewer grants only the essentials are covered.

Tonight we have to decide who doesn't deserve our help next year.

The children who have done nothing wrong whose mothers are in prison, with whom they have little positive contact, the class where (if last years figures are anything to go by) 80% would not pass their 11+ and 60% will not finish school or the special needs children who don't have a school just a portacabin in a field with no specially trained teachers.

Put all the blip banter in to perspective.

Ps. If you thought it was about the spelling you have misunderstood me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.