Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Prince Charles at #Hay13

A visit to the Hay Festival today, my first time at the renowned literature event.
We went to a talk about farming (really) and were surprised when it ended and police sniffer dogs searched the room. Then we went for a cuppa and heard cheering outside. I overhead someone say "It's Prince Charles" and lo and behold it was!
Even more bizarre, as a former staff press photographer, I found myself mingling with the other press photogs 'covering' a Royal visit, with my little camera. But as I was Joe Public today, I was then able to get as close as the crowd, while the other photogs were moved on (photographers have to keep a reasonable distance away at all times, politely moved along my police or press aides).
I said hello, but I don't think he heard me, and took my snaps, and went back to my quickly cooling coffee, a brief return to my former work life over...

Here's the official press release from Hay Festival about the Royal visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.