Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Ramsons

Allium ursinum

Today I went butterfly hunting down by the canal.  I was hoping to find orange tips feeding off the cuckoo flowers that grow on the bank, but I was too early, despite the sunshine and the wonderful warmth.  So then I went on to Clausentum Fen where I thought I might find a Wood Brown feeding on the green alkanet flowers, but again, nothing!  Well, not quite true, there were a couple of brimstones who fled away from me at high speed.  I realise the real problem is the one I found on Morn Hill the other day - there are simply not enough flowers out yet for them to feed on.

However, the ramsons are just beginning to come out, and here's the proof.  Soon they will be legion.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think this is the fourth year of WildFlowerWeek.  I know most of the wildflowers that grow around here and chances are they've been in my journal before.  This has led me to think about different ways to portray them, hence this slightly zany shot.

More importantly, though, this is to remind you that WFW23_01 comes to an end at midnight tonight.  From tomorrow the tag will be #WFW23_02.  Results of _01 will be in my journal and on the challenges page midweek.

Thanks for all your comments, hearts and stars on yesterday's, kind blip buddies.

And a happy Easter Day tomorrow to you all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.