Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Spring colours

After an LCT Board Meeting last night, where I nearly lost my phone having absent-mindedly put it on the top of my car, I was back at Torpel Cabin this morning for a meeting of the reserve monitoring group. It was a useful session and we're gradually moving towards a realistic and sustainable programme of monitoring to enable us to assess the effects of site management.

After the meeting finished I went for a stroll round Etton-Maxey, where planted Pear, Crab-apple and Blackthorn were in bloom. Newly flooded scrapes on the reserve had attracted Lapwing and Redshank, both of which were showing territorial behaviour. While I was sitting quietly in the hide I received a message from Kathryn, and agreed to meet her at Swaddywell NR to discuss our forthcoming walkshop. 

We had a useful chat - thankfully she bought me water, cake and dates, as by this time I was feeling extremely hungry and thirsty! We reviewed our planned programme of events and decided to drop our early June workshop, as there's already a lot going on that month! 

I'm still feeling slightly restless and disconnected from Peterborough - hopefully the feeling will fade as we move into the field season.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.